Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Mickey Thomas Revamps Starship Moniker For A New 10-Year Tour Of County Fairs

Starship post-Jefferson announced recently that they will be releasing their first album in over 20 years, insuring that we will see frontman Mickey Thomas' promotional photo for the next half decade in various county fair posters across the country.

Evidently, they have exhausted all of their greatest hits options (what, no live recordings of their most notable songs or re-recordings of the hits?) and not gotten the memo that nobody gives a shit about hearing anything coming out of Thomas' mouth besides hearing "We Milked This Titty For All Its Worth" "We Built This City" for the millionth time.

This is in addition for the hundreds of thirty and forty-somethings across the country named "Sara" who can be found mouthing the line "storms are brewin' in your eyes" right along with Mickey.

Perhaps Thomas should pay closer attention to another line from the same song:

"Move on, it's no good to go back in time"

In other Starship news...This time of the Jefferson variety (try to keep up), Paul Katner (the only remaining original member) continues to peddle his latest version of the band.

While I haven't spend a ton of time researching what Katner's band is up to, the Jefferson Starship website is filled with curious announcements like "Jefferson Starship Saves The Universe" and a wide array of photoshopped Richard Nixon photos.

Sounds like someones is still way upset about Nixon's backroom authorization of the bombing of Cambodia!

The aforementioned new promotional shot of Mickey Thomas and press release of Starship's newest record are found below.

Classic rockers Starship featuring Mickey Thomas have signed to Loud & Proud Records; the band's first new studio album in more than 20 years, Loveless Fascination, will be released worldwide on September 17th. Of the signing, Loud & Proud President Tom Lipsky commented, "Mickey Thomas is one of the most gifted singers in rock music history. His voice is pure, and without boundaries. Loveless Fascination stands with pride next to the most impressive work of Mickey's entire career."

Frontman Mickey Thomas added, ""It's been a long time coming. With each passing year, the bar was raised higher and higher for this album. I'd be lying if I didn't tell you the expectations caused me a few sleepless nights. Finally I just said - let's play it like we used to play it but play it like it's today! Then everything fell into place. The right management came along, the right songs appeared, the perfect producer and finally the label I hoped for. Now the wait is over. Please PLAY IT LOUD!!"
Find your way back...to the stage next to the funnel cake stand!

Produced by musician/producer Jeff Pilson (Dokken, Foreigner, Dio), Loveless Fascination finds Starship featuring Mickey Thomas in reinvigorated form with their classic arena rock sound enhanced by modern elements and a harder edge. Starship will play select tour dates around the world in advance of the album's release; please see below for the itinerary.

Starship featuring Mickey Thomas is one of the most iconic rock band from the '80s, with several platinum- and gold-certified albums to their name, recording several of the decade's biggest anthems, including "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now," "Sara" and "We Built This City." "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" and "Sara" each reached #1 on the singles chart and were also each nominated for Grammy Awards; additionally, "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" also received an Oscar nomination. "We Built This City" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" were more recently featured prominently in the smash hit musical and film, Rock Of Ages, introducing the band to a whole new generation of fans.

While the band's history goes back to the '60s, this incarnation of the band was started in 1979 when Mickey Thomas joined Paul Kanter to resurrect Jefferson Starship. To date, Starship featuring Mickey Thomas has sold millions of albums worldwide and continues to tour the globe, taking their powerful live rock show to the masses. Starship featuring Mickey Thomas is Mickey Thomas (vocals), John Roth (guitar, background vocals), Jeff Adams (bass, background vocals), Darrell Verdusco (drums), Stephanie Calvert (vocals) and Phil Bennett (keyboards, background vocals).

No comments: