Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Whitesnake Guitarist Releases Album That Isn't Called 'Vandenberg'

Not to be confused with 'Heading For A Storm'

I’ll say this about David Coverdale: he’s got good taste in guitarists.

And that goes for his recent axe-slinger, too: Doug Aldrich. Mr. Aldrich has some impressive chops, and he also possesses Mr. Coverdale’s penchant for regularly visiting hair salons and tanning beds. Understand that I say this out of pure jealously that they have hair to warrant even going to hair salons.

Now is the time more Mr. Aldrich to introduce the world to the band he was in before he sold them down the river to cater to David Coverdale’s quest for a new Whitesnake guitarist.

I’m pretty sure the reason you’ve never heard of Burning Rain before now is because they sucked, but just in case you need to find out for yourself, here we go again with another promotional blurb.

Frontiers Records is pleased to announce the release of bluesy hard rockers Burning Rain's third studio album, Epic Obsession, on May 21st in North America.  Burning Rain was founded by current Whitesnake axeman Doug Aldrich together with singer Keith St. John (ex-Montrose). The line-up for the new album is rounded out by Sean McNabb on bass (ex-Quiet Riot, Dokken, House of Lords) and Mat Starr on drums (Ace Frehley). Epic Obsession comes after a long hiatus from the release of the band's second album, Pleasure To Burn, in 2000.  

Of Epic Obsession, Aldrich commented, "I think we have a good batch of songs that will stand up. It's a melodic blues rock approach to the sound.  It's really the only thing I have done outside of Whitenake in the last ten years."  Frontiers Records will be also be reissuing the long out-of-print first two albums from Burning Rain, the self-titled debut (released in 1999) and the aforementioned Pleasure To Burn. Both albums will be repackaged and remastered and will contain two added bonus tracks to each respective album.  Burning Rain's previous efforts received great acclaim in Japan and the UK prior to Aldrich being tapped as guitarist for Whitesnake in 2002, with Melodic Rock.com declaring, "Great quality song writing...fantastic production that rivals any others out there.  For fans of classic blues influenced hard rock there will be few albums to rival this record..."

EPIC OBSESSION track listing:
1.    Sweet Little Baby Thing
2.    The Cure
3.    Till You Die
4.    Heaven Gets Me By
5.    Pray Out Loud
6.    Our Time Is Gonna Come
7.    Too Hard To Break
8.    My Lust Your Fate
9.    Made For Your Heart
10.  Ride The Monkey
11.  Out In The Cold Again
12.  When Can I Believe In Love
13.  Kashmir*
14.  Heaven Gets Me By (acoustic version)*
*bonus tracks

No comments: